Instagram is one of the most popular social networking sites around the world and many people use this platform to share images and videos, but did you know studies show social media is as addictive as gambling? Using these social networks wastes a lot of time. Some researchers are now linking an Instagram addiction to mental health risks and depression.
Therefore, some people prefer to get rid of this platform by Deleting or Deactivating their Instagram Account. Here is a brief and useful tutorial on how to delete or deactivate your Instagram account.
If you want to delete an Instagram account for some reason, you can delete the account in two ways:
- Temporary Deletion
- Permanent Deletion
Permanently Delete Instagram Account
If you decide to permanently delete your Instagram account first, consider the following important point:
- If you permanently delete your account, your account will be completely deleted and you will not be able to recover it.
- After deleting your account, access to all your images, videos, comments, likes, friends, direct messages, followers, and other information will not be possible even by Instagram.
- After deleting your account, neither you nor anyone else will be able to create an account with the same username. You also cannot create another account with the email address you used to create this account. If you wish to reuse the same email in the Edit Profile section of your profile page, delete or change it to an email (even invalid email).
- Without a username and password of your Instagram account, there is no way to delete your account. If you have access to the email, you signed up with, you can reset your password, and if you do not have access to email, there is no way to clear your account.
- By using the method described below, your account will be deleted and there is no way to restore it even a second after you delete the account! In addition, all of its effects disappear within a day or more.
- After deleting your account your username will be temporarily changed to Instagramer and after a few days, the account will be completely removed with comments and likes.
- Attention 1: If you only want to be inactive for a short time, you should deactivate it instead of Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account. So, you made your decision?!
- Attention 2: It is recommended that before deleting your account permanently, save a permanent copy of your posts, comments and profile information. to do this read following section.
How to download all your Instagram data
Before you delete or deactivate your account, take a few minutes to download your data. If you want to delete your account completely, this is the only way that you can access Instagram photos, videos and more later. Surely you love a lot of your images, especially photos you’ve taken with celebrities or places, and You don’t want to lose them.
Download Instagram Data via Instagram app
- Log in to your account
- Click the three-line hamburger menu icon at the top right.
- Tap the Settings option from the bottom right of the screen.
- Tap the Security option.
- Then click Download Data.
- Enter your email address here and touch the blue Request Download button.
Download Instagram Data via web browser
- Login to your account
- Click the Edit Profile button.
- Click the Privacy & Security option.
- Scroll down the page to enter the download information and click Request Download.
- Enter your email address and click the blue Request Download button.
Finish! Your Instagram data is ready.
After completing above steps, you will receive an email titled “Your Instagram Data”. Open this message to see the information download link inside it. This link will only be used for four days. Please note! receiving Email may take up to 24 hours, but it usually takes less than an hour.
These files are used for textual display of information and are easy to read. Using Firefox is one way to open these files. Just drag and drop the file onto the Firefox browser to open it.
How do I permanently delete my Instagram account?
To permanently delete your Instagram account, follow the steps exactly as in the pictures:
- Go to https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ and log into com from a web browser on your desktop or mobile device.
Then you should see this page:
Attention: You can’t delete your account through the Instagram app.
- Then select your reason for deleting your account from the ‘Why are you deleting your account?’ drop-down menu.
- After choosing your reason, you should write your password and then click on “permanently delete my account” bottom
finally: If you’ve done all steps to delete your Instagram account correctly, the following message will appear for you and your account will be permanently deleted from the Instagram account.
The complete process of deleting your Instagram account usually takes from a few hours to a day.